Blood Red Passion: Nocturnal Lovers

The mist lay like a falling blanket across the fields 

As I walked out into the night’s first hour,

Though my world was in its turmoil, the air was so still,

And I felt that first rush of power;

For the moon was now my lover, the night was her kiss,

Her body wrapped like silk around me,

I never thought I would know such ecstatic bliss,

I never thought I would open my eyes to see,

Her pale skin beneath my black fingernails,

Her vein pulsing beneath my trembling lips,

Off in the distance I hear the tolling of bells,

As her blood ever so silently drips

Onto my tongue to give me sweet life,

Denied to me when I walked as a man,

And one day soon she’ll be my nocturnal wife,

A beloved vampire beneath my hands,

The mist lay like a falling blanket across the fields,

And we lay there on the cold frozen ground,

The heat of our bodies, the quake of our flesh

Will bring us by night back around.

By Paul D Aronson. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

