Strange Days Indeed: The Monster (poem) 

​The Monster”

The monster comes for me at midnight, 
Sometimes he waits until 2, 
He knows I’m under your protection, 
And he waits until I’m away from you. 
He laughs and howls in the darkness, 
Waiting for our love to sleep, 
Then he comes stirring the waters
That threatens to drag me to the deep. 

The monster’s memory I can’t escape, 
Though I know that I’ve tried, 
But ever since I was a little child, 
Something’s lain buried inside. 
Get away from me I want to scream, 
Don’t come around here no more, 
I lie in the darkness so afraid, 
He’s on the other side of the door. 

These fears arise when I’m alone, 
no one else can really see, 
The monster comes when I least expect, 
Always haunting me. 

By Paul D Aronson. 2003. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

