Vampire Boys Of Summer: Chapter 23


Chapter 23: The Morning After & A Little Suspiria

The morning sun fought its way through the curtains to throw its rays across my bedroom floor. I lay in bed, naked, warm and happier than I’d ever been. I had half expected to wake up to find Haru gone, but he was still there, just as naked as I and more beautiful than ever. I stretched and lay my hand on his smooth chest. He stirred and opened his eyes. They were still dark, but now had a glow about them, as if he was lit up from within by our lovemaking.

“Good morning, beautiful,” he whispered.

“Good morning, handsome,”I replied, kissing his chest, then his face.

He snuggled against me. “I love you. You know that?”

“Did you know I love you more?”

“Impossible,” he said.

“Possible,” I returned, and kissed his neck. This was heaven. It had to be the best Sunday morning ever.

Then it dawned on me. Mom! Oh crap! She said we might go to church. If she came into my room to wake me up, she would find Haru and I amid roughed up sheets. Not to mention my tattered clothes in the corner. I made a quick mental note: Next time I’d be the one tearing off his clothes. All’s fair, right?

“If mom finds us she’s going to kill somebody. Probably me. You’re too gorgeous to kill.”

He laughed. “Well, you don’t have to worry about that. She left.”

“Oh my god, Did she see you?”

“No. She called for you through the door. I pretended to be you. She said she was going to church.”

I breathed a little easier. What a family we made. Dad’s in the crazy house. Mom’s at church. And I’m thinking of nothing but making love to my boyfriend all day long.

Haru removed himself from me and sat up in bed. Unraveling himself from the covers, he got up, and I saw him in all his glory. I felt my breath catch. He was like a god out of a dream, perfectly chiseled by the sculptor of creation. Firm butt, chocolate abs, rippled chest. My inner perv was rising to the surface.

“Want to take a bath?” he asked, walking to the bedroom door. I was hypnotized just watching him walk across the room.

“Yes,” I sighed, thanking every single God that people prayed to.

He opened the door and stepped out into the hall naked. Disappeared into the bathroom, I heard him turn on the faucet, running our bath water. I got up and picked up my clothes from the corner. They were pretty unwearable now. I threw them in a drawer, saving them as a wonderful souvenir to our first time.

When I followed him into the bathroom, he was already in the tub. Being a little self conscious, I tried to cover myself with my hands. He smiled as if he thought that was cute. “Don’t cover up, baby. You’re beautiful.”

“No, I’m not,” I replied. “I don’t like my body.”

“Well, I do.” He smiled, stirring the bath water with his hand, inviting me in. “You are very beautiful, love. There is nothing wrong with your body. If so, I would have discovered it last night. The only thing wrong with it right now is it is outside the bathtub, instead of in it.”

I smiled and stepped in the tub, sinking my body down in the warm water. I nestled my back against him, and he nuzzled my neck. Then, with a bar of soap in his hands, he lathered it up, and began to wash my back.

“Last night was wonderful,” he said, as his hands spread the luxuriant soap across my skin.

“Magical,” I agreed.

“I hope I wasn’t…”

“You were perfect, Haru.”

“So were you.” Another kiss on my bare neck as he rinsed off my back. “I’m sorry if it was too soon.”

“It wasn’t. I wanted you to make love to me. It not like I was fighting you off.” I turned to look at him. “Maybe you don’t have to worry about it, but next to you, my time is short. You’ll always have tomorrow, but it’s not like that for me.”

“Wow. Miss Sunshine this morning, aren’t you?”

“Well, it’s true. We could have waited, but I don’t want to wait to have you. I want you here and now. If something should happen to me, I…”

“Nothing is going to happen to you. I will protect you. I will not leave your side ever again. Unless I’m just getting on your nerves and you need a break.”

“As if…”

“Turn around, let me wash your front.”

The sudden change in conversation made me nervous. Having my back to him was one thing, but facing him in the light of day so he could see all of me was a whole different thing. The night before we had been in half darkness, a dim room, now here I would be exposed, nothing hidden, no mysteries.

“It’s okay, Haru,” I said, looking for a way out. “You don’t have to baby me.”

“I want to baby you. I haven’t had anyone to baby in hundreds of years.” When I didn’t turn to him, he sighed. “Nora, you are beautiful. You see flaws, I see perfection. You see all the things wrong with your body, but I see everything that is right. Just right.” He smiled. “Tell you what. If it makes you so nervous for me to see you like this , I’ll close my eyes. Now turn, please.”

I turned and allowed him to wash me. He was gentle, affectionate, and true to his words, his eyes remained closed. His hands moved over me with the soap, lingering just long enough to wash me. And though his fingertips grazed the parts of me no one else had touched, he never attempted anything more than getting me clean. When he was done, he rinsed me off by cupping his hands in the water and splashing it across me. If it had been me, I would have ended up getting water everywhere, but he was controlled, keeping it all on me and in the tub. Once done, he opened his eyes and leaned forward to kiss me light on the lips.

After my breath returned, I held my hands out for the soap. “Okay, it’s your turn,” I said.

“What?”

“Now you get pampered, vampire boy.”

A look of protest crossed his face, and then he seemed to think better of it. Maybe he saw resistance was futile. He handed the soap over and let me bathe him. I smiled. From now on, bath time for me was going to be a lot more interesting.

Later, after we dried off and at least put our pants on, we lay in bed once more, my head resting on his sweet scented chest, watching old horror movies on the TV. My bare feet touched his, my fingers twirling through his blond hair in gentle swirls. Our towels lay on the floor where we had discarded them to make love one more time before mom came home. Now, as the day wore into afternoon, we lay in our mood of comfort and joy, togetherness and tender fire, yet still mother had not returned from church.

“Maybe she went out to lunch with friends after,” Haru reasoned. “I’m sure she’s okay.”

On the television, a girl walked into a room that had no floor and she fell into a pit of razor wire. The more she struggled, the deeper she became entwined in it. I grimaced..“Oh gross.”

“Suspiria,” he replied. “My favorite. I have the Blu Ray in my collection.”

I laughed. I mean, who would think that vampires were avid film fans or even thought of things like DVD’s, Blu Ray’s, or anything other than sucking blood?

“When do you have to feed again?” I asked.

“Maybe tomorrow, or the next.”

“Can I come?”

“Excuse me?”

“You know, to see how you do it?”

He shook his head. “It wouldn’t be safe. You could get hurt.”

“You just said you’d protect me.”

He couldn’t argue that one. “That I did,” he replied. He looked at me, perhaps to see how serious I was about this. “We’ll see.”

“Okay.” I kissed his cheek. “I just want to know everything there is about you. I want to be included in every aspect of your life.”

He kissed me back. “I understand. I want the same of you.”

“But I don’t do anything interesting,“ I confessed.

“Sure you do.” He smiled “Hey, do you want to see something? I was going to show you the other night, but I can show it to you now, if you like.”

“Don’t you want to finish the movie?”

“No, I have seen it many, many times. They are trying to resurrect a witch.”

“Spoiler,” I replied, acting disappointed.

“Sorry,” he shrugged. It didn’t matter to me, though. After you have made love to a vampire a couple times in twenty four hours, witches seem pretty pale in comparison.

We had just gotten dressed when mom came home. I was relieved. For one, we didn’t go to church on a regular basis, and so we didn’t have a lot of close friends there. I don’t know why, but I was afraid something had happened to her on the way home. I’m not one for premonitions, but things were going so wonderful for me, I was waiting for the bottom to drop out. In my experience, there always seemed to be a balance. If something good happened, the bad wasn’t far behind. I told Haru this, and he told me to stop worrying. I guess he was right, but after all the excitement and pleasure, I felt there was a mood of impending doom on the horizon.

I forgot all about that when he confessed that what he wanted to show me, no other girl had ever seen. This made me feel special, and he reassured me I was, as we left the house and crossed the yard to his place. On the way however, I dared a glance across the street to Mrs. Winston’s house. Perhaps it was really Ryo’s now, for he was the one who dominated the place, and that in itself made me wonder about Angela.

“Uh, Haru?”

“Yeah, love?”

“Would you mind doing me a favor later?”

He stopped walking and looked at me. “Sure. What is it?”

“Would you check with Ryo and see if Angela is okay. I’m worried about her.”

A puzzled look came over his face. “Yeah, okay. But why would Ryo know anything about Angela?”

“We got in a fight last night. She was going to go see Ryo and I just wanted her to be on guard. I think he wants to turn her.”

He raised both eyebrows. “Turn her? What makes you think that?”

“Because he told me that’s what he was going to do.” I didn’t want to confess the second part of that; Ryo letting me know I could save her if I stayed the night with him instead.

A smirk crossed Haru’s face. “I don’t think you have to worry about that too much.”

“Why not?”

“If he turns her, she’ll be hung around his neck the rest of his life. He’ll be the master to her slave. Kind of like the brides in Dracula.”

“I’ll be hung around your neck the rest of your life.”

He smiled. “Not the same thing.” He took me in his arms and gave me a quick kiss. “I want you in my life, Nora. You are not something to own. Neither are you a slave, or bound to me without a mind of your own. You have free will, and can walk away at any time. I just have to trust and believe that you won’t.”

“I won’t,” I replied, kissing him back.

We began walking again. “Ryo doesn’t want the same things I do. Well maybe he does, but for different reasons. He loves to play with people, manipulate them, toy with their emotions. While I just want you to love me, Ryo just wants to control everything and everyone around him. I’m not saying that makes him bad or unredeemable, it just makes him different than me.”

We reached his back porch and he took my hand. “I’m sure your friend is okay. It’s very possible he may want to sleep with her, but turning her is not on his list.”

I stopped. “But, he turned the others.”

“What others?”

“My history teacher, Miss Lazenby. And Mrs. Winston. The other day I saw a boy I didn’t recognize dazed out in the driveway. He’s turned them all on his whim.”

“That’s not entirely true. Mrs. Winston was nearly dead when he found her. She’d had a stroke. He was needing a house separate from the rest of us. He saw the one across the street, no lights on, looked empty. So he went in and found her dying on the floor. He saved her by turning her. Hard to say whether she appreciates that or not, but that’s what happened.” He glanced over at the Winston House. “As for your History teacher, someone else got her first.”

“What do you mean?”

“Someone, another vampire, bit her and left her to die. They drank just enough blood to satisfy themselves, and then let her bleed out instead of turning her. Ryo was on the hunt and came across her. He could have found someone else to drink from, a new victim, and he knew if he drank from someone dying, they would turn. But again, he saved a life instead of destroying it.”

“And the strange boy in the driveway?”

“I’m not sure about that one. But I do know this. Ryo won’t turn someone for no reason. No matter how manipulative he can be, or how he likes to toy with girl’s emotions, he is an enemy of death, and will not allow anyone to suffer and die. And if he runs across someone who enjoys bringing suffering and death, he will meet it upon them with a vengeance.”

He walked us up the porch steps and beckoned me to sit with him in the lawn chairs. Instead of having me sit across from him, he sat down first and pulled me ever so gentle onto his lap.

“Now enough talk about death and turning and Ryo. Let’s talk about you and me.”

His tone made me nervous. “What do you mean?”

“I have something very important to ask you now that I have you on my lap.”

I didn’t say anything, but waited for his question. I had no idea what it could be, and was worried about what was coming.

He looked at me very serious and then he grinned. “Are you ticklish?”

In a matter of moments, he found out his answer, and I squealed and squirmed trying to get away from him. We fell out of the lawn chair and onto the deck, and once again I found his face hovering over mine. He stopped tickling my sides. “You know, I guess a person doesn’t really know unless you tell them. Actions speak loudly, but until you hear it spoken out loud, you can’t know for sure.” His face leaned closer and I closed my eyes. I felt his lips touch my closed eyelids. “I love you beyond anything, Nora.” His lips hovered just above mine, close enough that I could feel his breath on them. “I may not be able to turn you, my love. But, you have turned me.”

The afternoon melted away with his kiss…

“Vampire Boys Of Summer” 2017 Paul D Aronson. All Rights Reserved.

6 thoughts on “Vampire Boys Of Summer: Chapter 23”

  1. I love this part: “Nora, you are beautiful. You see flaws, I see perfection. You see all the things wrong with your body, but I see everything that is right.” Just aww. 🙂

    And I love how sweet and intimate this part is: “His face leaned closer and I closed my eyes. I felt his lips touch my closed eyelids. “I love you beyond anything, Nora.” His lips hovered just above mine, close enough that I could feel his breath on them.”

  2. There’s a line that reads “This made me feel special, and he reassured me it was,” either the “me” needs to be changed, or the “it” so they agree. So “This made me feel special, and he reassured me I was,” or “This made me feel what he had to show me was special, and he reassured me it was.” Something like that.
    The relationship between Haru and Nora is so sweet, like when she says, “I’ll be hung around your neck for the rest of your life.” And Haru explains the difference between her choosing to be with him and trusting that she won’t walk away, but that if Ryo turned Angela, she would be bound to him like a slave.
    In the line “So he went in and found her dying in the floor,” the last “in” needs to be “on.”
    Ryo not turning people into vampires without reason, adds another layer to him. It makes me want to like him a bit, and yet it somehow makes him scarier too. It means that he’s calculating in his actions, he’s not just evil for evil’s sake.
    In the line “ He stopped ticking my sides.” There’s an “l” missing from tickling.
    Such a sweet line from Haru, “I may not be able to turn you, my love. But, you have turned me.”

    1. Thank you so much for reading and your input and suggestions. They are very helpful and let me see my writing through another’s eyes. I’m starting to work on the editing suggestions you have made and hope to have all those addressed by the end of the day. My recent bout of illness has slowed me down a bit and affected my writing habits/ motivation, but hopefully in the editing process it will kickstart me into continuing this story. Thanks for reading along 🙂

      1. Good luck! I’ve been trying to go slow, but I only have one chapter left. Hopefully you’ll feel inspired, because I’m excited to read more.

Leave a Reply

