Floating Down The River (poem) 


“Floating Down The River”
Floating down the river

I watched all the burning pieces go,

Her envelopes in a paper boat

Flames against the flow,

‘Twas once I the captain

Of her lonely beating heart,

But then she took a different ship

And I watched us drift apart.
The letters engraved in roses

The perfume now is gone,

And as the letters become ashes

Her words still haunt me like a song,

I know that she did love me

In her own original way,

But while I swam in illusion

She floated quietly away.
The last letter to catch the fire

said that she loved another,

And with tears in my eyes

I hated waking to discover,

she never again would love me

The way I used to know,

Floating down the river

I watched all the burning pieces go. 
© 2004 Paul D. Aronson. 

Leave a Reply

