National Novel Writers Month 2016 Prep

NaNoWriMo Prep: Day 1
So, today I am starting with day 1 of preparing for National Novel Writers Month. It starts on Nov 1, so I don’t have much prep time here. For those who may not be aware of what the NaNoWriMo is, it is a once a year challenge / competition that attracts thousands of authors around the world and challenges them to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. Not everyone succeeds, and I’m really having my doubts whether or not I will, but this is something I have always wanted to do. It was recently suggested to me to give it a go this year, so after some thought I think it’s now or never. Each year it comes around, I say okay I’ll do it next year,and then never even attempt it. So, I’ll give it a shot.
The first thing to do prep wise is register on the website, so hold on a sec, I’ll be right back…
+++
Okay, I’m back, and it’s done. I am registered to compete, challenge, write, whatever it is you want to call it. So obviously the next thing to do in the prep for writing is to name my project and clue you in to what it is supposed to be about. I have chosen the title, “Time Of Our Death” , and it will be a young adult paranormal coming-of-age kind of tale. Here’s my synopsis, as it reads on the NaNoWriMo site:
On a cold Virginia morning, a school bus plunges off an icy bridge into the James River. Moments later, five students crawl to safety up on the freezing, snow covered banks to await rescue. But when the rescuers arrive they realize a horrible thing…they are dead. Confronted with the fact they didn’t survive the accident and are now doomed to walk the earth as ghosts, this group of teenagers decide to make the most of their situation and take advantage of their new state. The possibilities are endless: spy on the objects of their affection, find out where Uncle Henry hides his fortune, discover what people really think about you, terrorize the school bully, reveal your little brother’s secrets to the whole school. But as they set out to make mischief, they come to realize the terrifying truth: their deaths were no accident. 
So anyway, there you go. Prep day 1 is underway, and I hope you will join in and encourage me on this endeavor I’m getting ready to attempt. Look for my progress reports beginning on Nov 1. I can’t start writing until then 😉
If you are doing the challenge yourself, and wish to link to me as a buddy, please look me up on the NaNoWriMo site under username Paul D Aronson. Anyone wishing to see my profile can check it out there as well. Okay, so next up is getting my character sketches in order, so I’ll see you tomorrow with another prep update. Write on…

One thought on “National Novel Writers Month 2016 Prep”

Leave a Reply

