NaNoWriMo 2016 Prep Day 6: My Slow Day

Oh man, we are getting closer and closer, and I’m getting both excited and nervous at the same time. I had a little Prep setback yesterday in which I didn’t get to work on anything much. This is my fear once the competition starts, that things will happen at home or work to make me set aside my goals and focus on other things. Now don’t get me wrong, in my opinion and heart those things are more important than my writing, so they will always come first, but I do hope to stay consistent with my writing in November. When I read reasons why writers have failed to complete their 50,000 words, it’s usually because “life got in the way”. I’m hoping for everything to coexist together.In the course of being distracted from prep things, I did listen to some cool 80’s tunes that I’m adding to my writing playlist. Here’s a few of them:
Is This Love – Whitesnake
Ghostdancing – Simple Minds

Strangelove – Depeche Mode

True Faith – New Order

Wildside – Motley Crue

Just Like Heaven – The Cure

I Just Died In Your Arms – Cutting Crew

Little Lies – Fleetwood Mac

All these songs were popular in 1987, and most had been released or were singles within a few months of my time frame of October. I’m placing the story then because as I write it, we’ll just be moving out of that season and I’m hoping the mood will still be fresh. Also, I’d like to work a few Halloween related things into my story.
Okay ,so since sitting here typing this out isn’t really doing prep work, I’m going to head off and play prep catch up. I’ll return soon with another prep update. Until then, I want to encourage you to write something today. Anything. Any length. Just write on…

Leave a Reply

