Dark Eyes & Bated Breath

“Dark Eyes & Bated Breath”

I walk through the house stopping every clock

So the hands of time would be still

For I wish to capture this moment for eternity

And bring it back to me at will.

Her form and face etched upon my eyes

The taste of her skin to linger on

The melting kiss from her sweet soft lips

Her voice holding me within her song.

I never thought there would be such a love

I could know beyond imagined prose

That I would attempt to stop the time

And freeze it before she goes

To savor her frame where it lies

Wrapped up with mine like this

To drink her lips like morning dew

Or perhaps an evening kiss

While angels sing to lost lonely lovers

I will lose myself in her depths

Forevermore to be held in thrall

In dark eyes and bated breath.

2017 Paul D Aronson.

Leave a Reply

