50 Word Poetry

*Okay, I guess I’m feeling inspired this morning or something, so now here I go with a variation on the 50 word challenge. This time around the task is to write a poem of 50 words based on the image heading this post. Again, I selected this from random images on the web. I was feeling kind of hippy this AM so it appealed to me, and this poem resulted. Hope you enjoy! If you feel equally inspired, please feel free to post a 50 word poem of your own in the comments, or on your own blog. Please provide us a link so everyone can go check it out. Thanks*

++++++
Green light and clear water

against her dark skin,

naked she wades into the pool,

letting the glorious cool

bathe her in its liberation,

like an attentive lover,

seeping into her very core,

as she sinks further

to rest upon the slick, smooth stones,

bare to the elements and I.

9 thoughts on “50 Word Poetry”

  1. Nicely done. Very serene, and yes sensual. This one was quite difficult. Poetry is a different animal for me. It comes from a muse that I haven’t been able to identify or call upon demand (especially with a word limit in mind). But I worked it out, and here’s what I came up with.

    Stranded in paradise,
    tainted by dwindling
    supplies, the luxurious
    clear pool an omen.
    No one questioned
    the emptiness
    of the golden pond.

    Upon entering the pool
    and disturbing the placid waters
    They were called.
    Had the reptilian carnivores
    been a color other than gold,
    perhaps there would have
    been survivors.

    1. Oh my, what an awesome poem. I loved its chilling ending, and I found myself reading over it several times, placing emphasis in different areas. In this I could tell with your poetry you seem to make every word count. Nothing goes wasted. I also have to note you are a very visual writer, in both fiction and poetry, and I enjoy that aspect as well. Overall, great writing! Thanks for participating. πŸ™‚

  2. I’m not sure if this even counts as a proper poem, but oh well. πŸ˜‰

    She entered into the
    waters
    Cold
    Gold

    She entered it alone.
    The last one
    of
    The Last Ones.

    No one was there
    to
    witness it.

    No one was there
    to see
    her leave.

    She entered into
    the waters
    cold gold.

    The last one
    of
    the Last
    Ones.

    1. Excellent! This is most definitely poetry. I don’t really think there is a proper way to pen poetry other than baring your soul, vision, or thoughts. I’ve never gotten hung up over structure, only over content. And I love the content on display here. I read it out loud several times and each time it seemed to offer up something new, which is also something that poems do for us. Great write! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

