50 Word Story attempt

*I have seen several of these across the blogosphere lately, and have even joined in on a few, so I thought I would come up with my own, and see if it kickstarts anyone else’s imagination as well. The idea is to write a piece of flash fiction of exactly 50 words based on the picture that heads this post. I selected the image at random off the web, along with a few others, and then just started writing. Feel free to write your own either in your own blog (put a link so we can all go read it) or within the comments on this post. Hope you enjoy!*

I stood on the edge of the pond, the isolation and still waters a pale reflection of my feelings dead ended in this life. I wanted to just wade in, first to my waist, then my neck, and finally over my head. Maybe the mermaids would save me, maybe not. 

18 thoughts on “50 Word Story attempt”

  1. I cannot tell you how excited I was to see this prompt this morning. I’ve written several flash fiction pieces, but never with a prompt. I just mentioned to a fellow blogger yesterday that I wanted to try it, but I wasn’t sure how well it would go. So your timing is perfect, and the photo inspired me. The flash fiction pieces I’ve written before are in the general fiction category, and I’ve wanted to write one in one of my own genres, which are horror and psychological thrillers. Here’s one in horror.

    When Eleria awoke chest deep in the lake, she thought she was dreaming. The waters stirred around her, still she couldn’t sweep away the cobwebs of sleep. But when something grazed her flesh and wrapped around her ankle, a scream ripped from her throat before the creature pulled her under.

    I’ve been wanting to see some of these done with genre fiction, so thanks for throwing in a little fantasy into your piece. Well done. I liked the disclaimer in your heading, “50 Word Story Attempt.” I think it was more than an attempt. You did quite well.

    1. Thank you, I’m so glad I could throw some inspiration your way. I have just started doing prompts. I never thought I would be any good at it myself, but I do enjoy giving it a shot when I see something come through my feed. I’m hoping to try a few more of these in the future.

      I love your 50 word story. The horror aspect adds a different dimension, and I have to admit I wanted it to go on longer, so maybe you should consider working this into an expanded version. I found your story to be creepy (that’s a compliment, by the way) with its cliffhanger ending. Excellent write!

      1. Thank you for the kind words. It’s always great to receive encouragement when trying something different. And thanks again for the inspiration and opportunity to participate.

    2. I liked your story! I usually don’t give names to my flash fiction characters, but your piece inspired me to start doing it. Thanks for sharing your work with us! =)

      1. Thank you! I don’t think that I use names that frequently in mine either, but a name can create an impression and add another layer of intrigue, and it only cost you one word, which probably would have been a “he” or “she” anyway. Thanks for pointing it out, now I can be more mindful about using names in flash fiction in the future.

      2. You’re welcome! And no problem. I also learned something from reading your prompt. I feel adding a name creates another connection between the reader and the story.

  2. That is a great picture! And for the record, awesome last line. It stands on the thin line between hope and despair.

    Oh, and here’s my take on it:

    She stood still and watched me. Her gaze was cold. The kind of cold that could make you sick with a fever and a sore throat.

    “Look. I know this kind of childish, but could you please give me my barrettes back?”

    She shook her head and disappeared into the loch.

    1. Very nice! Thanks for taking part in this little challenge. It’s been cool to see everyone’s take on it. I like how yours brought in a little touch of humor, such as you do with your Ambrose and Elsie stories. Nicely done 🙂

  3. Whoa, so this took some thinking! Here I go:

    Humans shouldn’t see us, but I’ve broken that rule. As I stay in the water, I wait for him to return. He promised not to leave me behind. I wonder; can a human and a mermaid have a future? Someday, we will be free, to find our own place, forever.

    Here is my 50-word story. You know I love my mermaids and mermen =) I love how you are promoting writing in the community! It’s nice to read everyone’s stories.

    1. Awesome! When I first ran across the image on the web I thought of Clash Of Tides, so it was nice to see you take the mermaid approach 🙂 I too have enjoyed reading all the stories for this prompt. It is so cool to have people participating and feeding their creativity on the blog. I definitely plan on throwing some different kind of challenges and prompts out there in the future. 🙂 I have to give you credit there though. Your writing and blog tips, as well as your recent prompt, inspired me to try a little reader participation here on my own blog. So thank you 🙂

      1. Hehehe, I’m sure you knew; I was always going to take the mermaid route. Awesome! I’m excited to see what you come up with^^ It’s so nice to see writers sharing their work and blogs with each other. A friendly, supportive writing community is the best!

        You’re welcome :3 I always try to bring people together!

        I figure we’re all writers, so we should share each other’s work.

      2. Thanks for participating. I have to give you the credit for getting me into the whole prompts and challenges things, as well as attempting to engage other writers to stimulate and share our creativity. Not only does it help us think outside our normal box, but I feel it has the ability to build friendships among our followers as well. Thank you for your contribution that your own blog brings to WordPress. You are an inspiring writer on many levels, so keep it up 🙂

Leave a Reply

