Challenge: Abandon Your Comfort Zone

Recently a friend of mine on Facebook challenged me to write something outside my comfort zone. “Whatever you are scared to write about, write it anyway,” he said. I let this sink in awhile, but didn’t really intend to take him up on the challenge. Still, it wouldn’t leave me. Could I abandon my safe writing place and tackle something that makes me uncomfortable or is darker than what I would normally write? Finally, while meditating with my adult coloring book, it came to me. What I felt is one of  the hardest things for me to write about just sprang to mind with a stark opening line. I feel weird telling you that I hope you enjoy this piece, but hopefully it does bring something to the table, to maybe inspire you to write a story or poem outside your own comfort zone. You don’t need to use the picture heading this post, just write what you don’t want to write πŸ˜‰ Feel free to share anything you may write in regards to this challenge if you like. You can post it as a comment here in my post, or share a link if you have it written or posted somewhere else. Okay, takes a deep breath, here it goes.

+++++++

The Devil Is A Cold Floor
I am a shadow.

 A ghost moving against the chill of a cold concrete floor.

The voice of the devil tells me this is what adults do.

Lay still. Be quiet. This will hurt just a bit, then it feels good.

The devil lies. The hurt goes on forever

Following from one lover to another

To mess you up for everyone

Hot water heater

I imagine its the mouth of hell

As I stare up in into its tiny flickering flame

Wishing it could burn the shame away

But the shame remains as it always will

A stark reminder that the devil is a cold floor

Upon which all innocence dies.

11 thoughts on “Challenge: Abandon Your Comfort Zone”

  1. I am glad that you decided to try this challenge. I think it is worthwhile for all writers to do this at some point. I like the opening line, “I am a shadow.” And how the second to last line pulls the poem back around to the beginning, emphasizing the point that the devil is a cold floor. If the first line is my favorite, then the second line is my second favorite. The shape of your poem reminds me of an hourglass where the top of the poem kind of sets out the problem, and funnels through the middle where the bottom half carries the weight of the lesson. It’s almost as if I can feel the passing of time as I read it. As if the lesson was not something that was learned quickly but through painful repetition and hindsight. Well done!
    I recently went through a period where I wrote several pieces that dealt with something that was very difficult for me to talk about, and which I had never written about. I lost three grandparents in 2 1/2 years. Here’s a link to a poem about my grandpa the first one I lost, called, “The Things I Regret Forgetting” the numbers are important to the rhythm and intensity of the poem. I plan to post it on my blog one day with audio, because it really is intended to be spoken and heard. http://www.scarletleafreview.com/poemsdec2016/category/mandie-hines

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, that was an amazing piece. I read it aloud though I know my rhythm probably difffers from your vision. It really got me, as it made me think of my parents and brothers, all of whom are passed on as well. Very emotional and heartfelt, yet wrenching at the same time. You are a true poet.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you, that’s so kind. I love poetry and it inspires me. I’ll spare you from my own doubts and insecurities about my abilities at writing it though. It is wonderful to hear when a piece resonates with someone, because I think that’s part of why we share our work, not just to entertain, but to connect. It makes us realize we’re not alone in our struggles.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s very true. In everything I write, whether it’s fiction stories, personal poems, or even just random musings, I am striving for connection with the reader, as well as entertaining them.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This was quite a bit out of my comfort zone, especially since I know it could be a trigger for some people. I considered not writing it. Even as I was writing this comment, I thought, “Ehh, maybe I shouldn’t.” But it was just one of those things that was begging to be written. If you think it’s too controversial/problematic/fill in the blanks, you can totally delete it and I won’t take it personally. πŸ˜€ I’ll totally get it. (And no. This is not based on any personal experience, just for the record. πŸ˜€ )

    Well. After all of that build up, here we go:

    ***

    They say the first cut is the deepest.

    I look at the switchblade in my hand.

    How deep should the first cut be? Just deep enough to bleed a little? Or deep enough to make my hand weak and useless?

    I look at the switchblade in my hand.

    Why don’t they have a manual for something like this? Something I can study and learn from. What to do. What not to do.

    How much it will hurt.

    How much of the hurt it will take away.

    I thought about looking it up on the internet, but I got scared. Looking it up made it all to real.

    I look at the switchblade in my hand.

    Is this real? This twisted moment that I’m in – is this real? Am I really sitting on my bed behind a locked door and closed windows?

    Am I really holding a switchblade in my hand?

    Am I really going to do this?

    There is a switchblade in my hand.

    They say that the first cut is the deepest.

    The very first cut.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, such a well written expressive, yet hard hitting piece. I can honestly say I have been there long time ago so it’s evocativeness rings true to me. You have captured those confused, swirling emotions in stepping out of your comfort zone, and I think you did a great job. Challenge accepted and completed πŸ˜‰

      I would never delete anyone’s work, especially in relation to a prompt or challenge. I guess the whole point in this ‘step out of your comfort zone’ was to write things that at the very least made the writer uncomfortable. If this passes over to the reader, even better. πŸ™‚

      Hope to see you stepping up to participate in more prompts or challenges we might come up with. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

