Re-introducing Vampire Boys Of Summer

It’s been a good five or six months since I’ve worked on my manga/anime inspired YA paranormal novel, Vampire Boys Of Summer, and I seem to have lost where I was going, lol. But hey, this is a story that is begging to be finished or turned into something bigger, so before I kick back into it blindly I thought I would just read through what I have already and create a new edit in the process. I don’t plan on removing any of the Story arc, plot devices, or characters, but my intention here is to flesh out a few scenes I felt were rushed or to add some minor details that may have gotten left out first time around. But most of what I will be doing is related to story mechanics: working on long sentences that would work better broken up, punctuation errors, and hopefully dropping a ton of adverbs which I tend to overuse.

For those who have already invested time in reading the original twenty some chapters I apologize. Your dedication and time and comments were very invaluable as the story evolved, so please don’t feel in my doing this I am disregarding any loyal readers. In the end, I hope I will end up with a better, tighter version of this story, and I also hope you’ll take the time to check out the new edits and let me know what you think. I have updated the prologue and first 9 chapters so far.

To new readers and visitors, the original chapters will remain on the blog while I’m working on this. You can access them through the vampire boys page which can be found under the menu heading Vampire Boys Of Summer. The new edits will also appear there and will be marked as such. If you like teen vampires, manga, or anime, hopefully you’ll find something interesting in the tale as I throw a few twists into vampire lore, add some manga style outrageousness, and just have fun with my characters.

Thanks for reading and keep writing with boldness of pen and spirit,

Paul D Aronson.

Vampire Boys Of Summer Main Page

7 thoughts on “Re-introducing Vampire Boys Of Summer”

  1. All right, Paul. Something longer for me to get involved in. I’m very excited. I’m also thrilled to hear that you are already through the first nine chapters. The trick will be not to read ahead of your editing, which will be hard for me. At least I have something to look forward to in the next few days when I need a break from writing.
    I’m currently trying to do some editing of my novel and I pretty much just feel like banging my head on my desk most of the time. I have found rewriting sections to be the most painful, especially when I’m cutting a section that I really like and is written well, but needs to be changed for the betterment of the book. I think as writers it’s sometimes easier to add words, but in editing some of the biggest improvements come from cutting them.

    1. Oh I agree with you. Editing is a head banging experience, and not in a rock and roll sort of way either. I guess I’m doing okay as I did my nine Chapter edit in about 4 days. That means I only have about 15 to go before I pick up the story again, lol. Unfortunately I left it with a major cliffhanger back on Nov 1 when I started the NaNoWriMo competition. So I’m itching to get back into the writing of this story.
      Good luck with the editing of your own work. I do know the struggle, and I really don’t like the editing process, but in order to get my story straight I have to. Don’t bang your head too much 😉

      1. Do you think this is your final edit for this story, or are you still looking for feedback? I’m curious, because I’ll keep it in the back of my mind when I read if you still want feedback. I mainly read other people’s work online for entertainment, but if you want feedback, I can offer it since I’ll already be reading it. Regardless, you’ll probably get my thoughts on things I enjoy or am surprised about along the way.

      2. I
        This is intended to be my final edit I think, excluding minor grammar or punctuation. However, feel free to offer feedback or comments on any area of the story, good or bad. 🙂 Part of sharing my writing in this format is seeing how it may or may not appeal to the reader. Looking forward to your thoughts, as the style of this seems different to what I normally write as it is influenced by anime and manga. Or maybe that’s just me picking my work to pieces ,lol…

      3. That will be interesting to have the anime and manga influence. I’m not sure how that will play into a vampire story.

      4. Hopefully you will find it an interesting read. I played with vampire lore a lot, so you will probably see some things that make you go huh, but I do eventually explain things 😉

      5. Haha. Look forward to those moments of pause. I enjoy when people take an old idea and twist it into something new.

Leave a Reply

