Doll (50 word story)

I really love doing prompts and challenges. Sometimes I just want to push myself to try and write something that is more strict and confined in its guidelines. I’m so used to stretching stories out that when 50 word challenges come along it can be quite daunting. Though the following little story wasn’t brought on by a challenge from another blog or source, I gave myself this one word prompt while working in the basement and coming across the doll illustrating this post. It belonged to my mother and I snapped up a quick shot and fed it through my photo editor. Taking a look at it later, the 50 word story began. Hope you enjoy! Feel free to post your own 50 word story  in the comments if the pic inspires you to write. Have a great Saturday and stay away from dolls, lol….
The old porcelain doll looked at me from the dresser. Her cracked amber eyes seemed to harbor evil and malice. Her tiny mouth sneered. My wife slept peacefully beside me, so I ignored the thing and tried to get some rest too. I didn’t even know we had a doll. 

16 thoughts on “Doll (50 word story)”

  1. I may have gone slightly over 50 words, but here’s my take:

    He drew her image on the chalkboard – a sad-eyed creature enrobed in wisps of hair. It was a strange compulsion, but he obeyed. On every chalkboard in the school, he obeyed. Her eyes became more and more lifelike as the rest of her became more abstract. He had only one chalkboard left.

    He wondered what would happen after that.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Excellent, creepy image for the prompt, and fantastic story, Paul. I loved the line, “I didn’t even know we had a doll.” You have a knack for last lines. Forgive me for going slightly over the limit this week, but I cut the original from over 70 words, so it’s closer than it began.

    Sorting through a box from an auction, I uncovered a Victorian doll. I shuddered and threw her in the dumpster.
    In my office, the printer hummed. Curious, I pulled pages from the tray to find images of the doll.
    I tossed them.
    I returned to sheets falling from the printer, and the doll sitting in my chair.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Very nice! It’s okay that you went over. The object is getting one to be creative and let their imagination go. πŸ™‚ I really enjoyed your take on this. The last line sent it home. I have always tried to pay attention to final lines. Whether it’s the end of a story, or just a chapter, I feel like that last line has to power to bring readers back or make them indifferent to what you write. Your last line was perfect, and was the type of thing to make me wish there was more. Good job!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks. I appreciate the encouragement. And you’re right. The last line can make or break a story. I’ve read stories that were just mediocre, but had a heck of a line at the end of the chapter that made me excited to continue reading. And on the opposite end, I’ve read books that I think were my favorite, right up to the end of the book, and the end was so bad it ruined the entire experience.
        Although I was immediately inspired by this prompt, it turned out that this story was harder to cut down than other flash fiction pieces I’ve written, and I’m not sure that it was getting stronger with the more words I cut. I think this may have been a story that needed legs. It may have been better suited at 100 words, and maybe a few days to fully be realized. But that’s the fun of a challenge. Some are more successful than others and you just have to put them out there.
        At least you liked it, and that’s all the more any writer can ask for.
        Forgot to mention earlier that I also liked the amount of description you were able to add in such a short space, like “cracked amber eyes.”

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

