Sleeping Gods in poetry and prose

Today I thought I would try a little experiment. Consider it a challenge or prompt if you’d like. The challenge to myself was to write a short poem or rhyme, as well as a short piece of prose or free write. Both pieces had to cover the same subject or theme, and would allow the reader to see it in two different ways. I don’t know if I succeeeded in this, but here’s what I came up with. Hope you enjoy.

SLEEPING GODS

We are the dreams of the sleeping gods 

Peacefully adrift on oceans of time

Wondering if there is more than this

Being a mere fragment of the mind.

+ +++++++++

Once, when I was young, I dreamed I was a dream, and at any moment the gods would awake and I would find myself drifting off into nothing, my whole life amounting to just a figment of heaven’s imagination. In this, the futility of growing up became apparent. For after all, if we are but a dream in the minds of the gods, then nothing is permanence. At any given moment, our very world could change, even to the point where the gods wished to dream of us no more.  

10 thoughts on “Sleeping Gods in poetry and prose”

  1. I really liked the contrast of your two pieces. The poem is so peaceful and calming. The prose is so full of confict.

    And I really liked this line: “…even to the point where the gods wished to dream of us no more.”

    ***
    And this would be my take on the challenge (sorry it’s a little long):

    The gods sleep.
    Our voices
    They do not hear
    Our tears
    They do not see

    We drift
    Alone
    Friendless
    Hopeless
    All through life.

    For the gods sleep.
    Dreaming.
    And we live here
    Suffering
    All through our lives.

    *****

    I am a god.

    I cannot sleep.

    I cannot rest.

    My eyes must always be upon my creations. I must think of them at all times. I must be with them at all times.For if I blink, if I sleep, if I nod off for a microsecond, all of my beloved creation will cease to be.

    I see them at all times. I see them in the light. I see them in the dark. I see the good they do. I see their evil. I hear their psalms. I hear their curses.

    I wish to help them. I try to help them.

    But they have their own wills. They have their own minds.

    They don’t always heed my voice.

    But I keep trying. I keep watching over all of my creation.

    I will not rest.

    I will not sleep.

    For I am a god and they are my beloved creations.

    I will keep trying to help them.

    I will keep trying to guide them.

    And I will not sleep.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. I enjoyed your entries as well. The whole concept of sleeping, dreaming gods intrigue me, or as in the case of your prose entry, gods that do not sleep, but work in our lives continuously. Both your poem and prose give much food for thought. Thanks for joining in and letting the challenge inspire you.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you! I’m glad you liked it.

        When I read the prompt, the line “I am a god. I cannot sleep.” automatically popped up in my head and I couldn’t wait to get started on it to see where it would go. I almost gave the god a name, but it somehow felt unnecessary.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I really like the difference between the poem and prose, which was one reason I wanted to challenge myself with it. I have to admit I haven’t done much free write before. I normally deal with structure in all my writing, so just to open up and let words flow with no pre planned direction is almost alien to me. I enjoyed doing it and liked how it turned out. I plan to return to the form more 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s one of the fun parts about writing: challenging yourself to something new and unexplored. At first it feels foreign, but you might find that you have a lot of talent at it. And I certainly believe that is the case here. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

